Back to "Four Aces".

The Excalibur (9,359 grt, 474 ft. long) and her three sisters Excambion, Exeter and Exochorda,
known as the "Four Aces", were built in 1930-31. Having been renamed Joseph Hewes in 1941,
she was sunk off the coast of Morocco in November 1942 while serving as a transport for the U.S. Navy.
The only sister to survive the war was the Exochorda, in 1948 renamed Tarsus for Turkish Maritime Lines.
She was scrapped in 1960 following a collision in the Bosphorus.

The Excalibur
(Courtesy of Jeremy Fallis)

You may use my images on another website.
Then please credit them as being from the collection of Björn Larsson,
and preferably provide a link to my Introduction page.
Thank you!
Please note that an image of a brochure or other item provided by another collector
may not be used without prior permission from its owner.

This page last updated August 19, 2015.